2021 Aspen Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Local & Regional Government
The Aspen Public Radio Newsroom has chosen to focus on four specific issues for our election coverage: the COVID-19 pandemic, social justice/representation, climate change and land use/management.These issues were among the most important to voters, according to a Pew Research poll in August 2020. We also chose them because they are important to people who live in the Roaring Fork Valley. That’s especially true as many have seen the economy, and their livelihoods, take a hit because of the pandemic, the growing Latino population in the region hasn’t had someone from their community holding a countywide governmental office, wildfires have been ferocious this season in the state, and the oil and gas industry employs many people.Our central question while reporting this series was “What Can I Expect From My Government?” We set out to find a diverse group of people who could tell us their answers to that question.Our election series is scheduled for Oct. 20-23. You'll be able to hear the stories during Morning Edition and All Things Considered. All our content will also be available here. Many of the other stories you’ll find here are from our reporting partners. We wanted to provide information about Colorado's key ballot initiatives and races, and also share details about how you can take part in this historic election year.

Local Candidates On The November 2020 Ballot

Voters will receive the 2020 Blue Book in the mail, along with their ballots for the Nov. 3 election.
Alex Hager
Aspen Public Radio
Voters will receive the 2020 Blue Book in the mail, along with their ballots for the Nov. 3 election.

U.S. Senate
Republican: Cory Gardner (incumbent)
Democrat: John Hickenlooper

U.S. House
Republican: Lauren Boebert
Democrat: Diane Mitsch Bush

State Senate District 8
Republican: Bob Rankin (incumbent)
Democrat: Karl Hanlon

State House District 57
Republican: Perry Will (incumbent)
Democrat: Colin Wilhelm

State House District 61
Democrat: Julie McCluskie (incumbent)
Republican: Kim McGahey

Eagle Board of County Commissioners
District 1
Democrat: Matt Scherr (incumbent)
Republican: Jennifer Woolley

District 2
Democrat: Kathy Chandler-Henry (incumbent)
Republican: Thomas Crisofulli

Garfield Board of County Commissioners
District 2
Republican: John Martin (incumbent)
Democrat: Beatriz Soto
Unaffiliated: Brian Bark

District 3
Republican: Mike Samson (incumbent)
Democrat: Leslie Robinson

Pitkin Board of County Commissioners
District 3
Greg Poschman (unopposed, incumbent)

District 4
Steve Child (incumbent)
Chris Council

District 5
Jeffrey Evans
Francie Jacober

Snowmass Village Town Council
Alyssa Shenk (incumbent)
Tom Fridstein 
Jeff Kremer
Matthew Owens
Gray Warr