Listen Live

Aspen Fire Board election is Tuesday

May 4, 2018


Tuesday is the last day to cast a ballot for Aspen’s Fire Protection District board of directors.

Five people are running for three open seats on the board of directors for this special district. The board approves financial decisions for the Aspen Volunteer Fire Department, wildfire prevention and fire education. It also oversees the fire chief.

Three current members, David Walbert, Stoney Davis and Denis Murray, are running for re-election. They are challenged by Travis Van Domelen and Claude Salter.

Fire Marshal Parker Lathrop said it’s important to hear public input through the election process.

“We need direction from the public," he said. "We want to make sure that we’re providing the services the public wants and needs.”

There is an ongoing discussion of the current mill levy that funds the protection district; the next board will continue to examine if this is sufficient. Under the current tax rate, the district has about a $2 million annual budget. That goes largely to administration, direct fire-fighting expenses and equipment.

Ballots are due to the Aspen Fire Department by 7 p.m. Tuesday.