About Aspen Public Radio

Aspen Public Radio
110 E. Hallam Street, Ste.134
Aspen, CO 81611
(970) 920-9000

Mission Statement of Aspen Public Radio: To support, nourish, and enrich our community by providing informative, entertaining and educational radio and digital programming in a reliable and professional manner.

Aspen Public Radio, broadcasting on 91.5 KAJX, Aspen and 88.9 KCJX, Carbondale, as well as several translators (see frequency map) is a public radio station located in Aspen, Colorado. It serves communities in the Roaring Fork, Crystal, Colorado, Frying Pan and Eagle River valleys. Our primary format is NPR news. The station is located in the Red Brick Center for the Arts and its public file is located at the links below.

You may also listen to Aspen Public Radio on your Smart Speaker, via a stream and other options available here.

Our contest/sweepstakes rules can be found here.

Our career opportunities are here and our diversity statement is here.

Our printable program schedule is here and interactive schedule is here.

Staff members can be reached at (970) 920-9000 and are:

Tammy Terwelp, Executive Director
Craig Kopp, Managing Editor
Daniel Costello, Operations and Program Manager; All Things Considered Host
Lisa DeLosso, Development & Community Engagement Manager
Christin Kay, Arts & Culture Reporter
Molly Dove, Morning Edition Host/Reporter
Alex Hager, Reporter
Lauri Jackson, Office Administrator and Development Associate.

Debbie Welden is our Underwriting Sales Director and Chris Mohr is our Summer Classical Music Host.

Elizabeth Stewart-Severy contributes reports on issues of the environment.


Aspen Public Radio is dedicated to fair, ethical journalism. We adhere to the NPR standards.

The station is overseen by Roaring Fork Public Radio, Inc., a 501(c)(3) corporation (tax ID # 84 - 0884901). A station audit is conducted each spring by Reese, Henry and Company. The audited financials may be viewed at the station during regular business hours. 

Public File Links
KAJX, Aspen, CO | Public Files
KCJX, Carbondale, CO | Public Files

Aspen Public Radio Board of Directors 2019: Douglas Carlston (Chair), Kitty Boone, Penney Evans Carruth, Katy Frisch, Gary Gerst, Karl Hanlon, Ann Mass, M.D., Marcie Musser, Bob Purvis, Chris Ryan, Anne Tobey, Bill Turner and Kathy Williams.

Board Meeting Schedule | All Aspen Public Radio board meetings are held at Aspen Square Condominium Hotel Conference Room 617 E. Cooper Avenue, Aspen, Colorado 81611 unless noted otherwise here.

January 17, 2019, 3pm (dismissed)
March 21, 2019, 3pm
June 20, 2019, 3pm
August 15, 2019, 3pm
September 19, 2019, 3pm
December 19, 2019, 3pm

Aspen Public Radio Board of Directors Committee Meeting Schedule:

Executive Committee | Meetings as needed 

Development Strategy Committee | Meetings as needed 

Strategic Planning | Meetings as needed 

Finance Committee | Finance committee meetings held at 3:30 pm on the second Thursdays of January, March, June, August, September, and December at Ryan Investments, 720 E. Hyman Avenue, Aspen, Colorado

Governance Committee | Meetings as needed


Aspen Public Radio Community Advisory Board (CAB) 
Aspen Public Radio has a Community Advisory Board that is in compliance with the requirements of the Corporation for Public Broadcasting. The purpose of the advisory board is to provide a vehicle for effective community input to the station's management about station programming, community service content and impact on the community. The purpose of a CAB is as a content advisory and support role only - no fiduciary or decision-making powers are granted.

If you are interested in serving on the CAB, please contact Program Manager Daniel Costello.

CAB Meeting Schedule | Meetings are held at 8:30 a.m. on the first Tuesdays of February, May, August (cancelled), and November at the Red Brick Conference Room, 110 E Hallam #118 Aspen, Colorado